Our First Date

Of course, I have to write about our first date. I don’t know why it hadn’t occurred to me before! The memory brings a smile to my face. Hard to believe, huh? I have a picture of him in my mind sitting across from me in the restaurant. He looked so charming, and sweet, and vulnerable. He wanted to please me so badly. He wanted the night to be so perfect. Our first date…what a laugh! We had already been living together for three months at least. Did I ever say we moved fast? So fast we had never been on a ‘real’ date until after living together for that much time! Yes, laugh! Be happy! Feel light! It’s how this memory makes me feel…so shouldn’t I share it?

What was the name of the restaurant? I can’t remember. Viper? Vroom? Something starting with a ‘V’. It eventually closed, and no wonder, the service wasn’t the greatest and the food was hit and miss. Except the night we went. Recently opened, it was lovely. There was a Russian singer and a small wooden dance floor. We ordered too much food and were greeted by some of his students. I wanted so badly to look beautiful for him. I wanted so much for him to be proud of me. We shared our dishes and as usual he had to order something disgusting…well, only if you find beef tongue disgusting I suppose. I don’t remember my meal. And when I asked that we dance. He agreed and took my hand and led me to the floor. Did I wear my red dress? He held me tight and spun me about, and oh how well he could dance! It felt like dancing amongst the stars, and there was no one in the room but us and that Russian singer to be heard.

He had this way of looking at me that said, “You are the most amazing, incredible, special woman in the world.” Oh, I believed it. I had never known a man to be so intelligent, talented, handsome, and graceful, and this one liked me…HE LIKED ME! I saw it in his eyes, I felt it in his touch, I heard it in his heartbeat, I tasted it on his tongue. He liked me! And for a time, he LOVED me.

How I wanted to pull him to me and hold him tight. We had such a magical, magical night! Shooting silly pellet guns and going to the children’s arcade, but hey, they had a bear ride (like a mechanical bull ride) that threw him off, and we raced each other on a video game, and he let me win at least one game of air hockey that I love to play so much. We were silly and laughing and in love, so what did it matter if we acted like children.

Our first date…and I loved him so much!

Leave a comment